

To: City Council

Date: July 6, 2017

From: Greg Stanton Mayor

Subject: BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

The purpose of this memo is to provide recommendations for appointments to the following Boards and Commissions:

Development Advisory Board

I recommend the following for reappointment:

Karen Heck

Ms. Heck is a Planning Commission representative and will serve a second term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Cassy Lemon

Ms. Lemon is a Design Professional representative and will serve a second term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Christina Noble

Ms. Noble is a Design Professional representative and will serve a second term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Patrick Panetta

Mr. Panetta is Design Professional representative and will serve a second term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Peter Rasmussen

Mr. Rasmussen is a Design Professional representative and will serve a second term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Phoenix Business and Workforce Development Board

I recommend the following for appointment:

Daniel Barajas

Mr. Barajas is the District Director for workforce development for the Maricopa Community College District and will serve as a Community Colleges representative. He replaces Dr. Steven Gonzales and will serve a full term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Jeff Kulaga

Mr. Kulaga is the Director of Business Development & Employer Relations for Arizona State University and will serve as a Higher Education representative. He replaces Cindy Parnell and will serve a full term which will expire on July 1, 2020.

Sister Cities Commission

I recommend the following for appointment:

Henry Lam

Mr. Lam is the banker and project manager for US Bank and a resident of District 7. He replaces Jim Badge, who resigned and will serve a partial term which will expire on June 30, 2018.

Sebastien Reyes

Mr. Reyes is the director for U-Haul International and a resident of District 4. He replaces Allan Yang, and will serve a full term which will expire on June 30, 2020.

Downtown Phoenix Hotel Corporation Board

I recommend the following individual for appointment:

James Bennett

Mr. Bennett replaces Paul Blue and will serve on the Board in his role as the City Representative.

Encanto Village Planning Committee

I recommend the following for appointment:

Ann Cothron

Ms. Cothron is a volunteer and a consultant for Acme Consulting. She is a resident of District 4 and will replace Dan Carroll on the Committee as a representative of the Mayor. Ms. Cothron will serve a partial first term to expire November 19, 2017.

Jayson Matthews

Mr. Matthews is director of ending hunger of the Valley of the Sun United Way. He is a resident of District 4 and will replace William Novak on the Committee as a representative of the Mayor. Mr. Mathews will serve a serve a partial first term to expire November 19, 2017.

Phoenix Aviation Advisory Board

I recommend the following for appointment:

Jim Bennett

Mr. Bennett is the Aviation Director and will serve on the board as a non-voting exofficio member.

Art Hamilton

Mr. Hamilton is a former state representative and replaces John Berry. He will serve a first term to expire December 15, 2020.

I recommend the following for reappointment:

Stephanie Cherny

Ms. Cherny will serve her first full term to expire December 15, 2020.

Leezie Kim

Ms. Kim will serve her second term to expire December 15, 2020.

Verma Pastor

Mrs. Pastor will serve her second term to expire December 15, 2020.

Water/Wastewater Rate Advisory Committee

I recommend the following for reappointment:

Larry Harerra

Mr. Harerra is a traffic engineer for the City of Tempe, an active member of his community, and a resident of District 1. He replaces Vineetha Kartha on the committee and will fulfill a partial term to expire March 18, 2018.

Historic Preservation

I recommend the following for appointment:

Helana Rutter

Ms. Rutter is a historian and a resident of District 6. She replaces Kathryn Leonard as the historian representative on the commission and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Greta Rayle

Ms. Rayle is an archaeologist and a resident of District 6. She replaces Tom Jones as the archaeologist on the commission and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Bruce Cutting

Mr. Cutting is a resident of District 3. He replaces Raleigh Dombek who serves on the commission as an at large member and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Heritage Commission

I recommend the following for appointment:

Helana Rutter

Ms. Rutter is a Historian and a resident of District 6. She replaces Kathryn Leonard as the historian representative on the commission and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Greta Rayle

Ms. Rayle is an archaeologist and a District 6. She replaces Tom Jones as the archaeologist on the commission and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Bruce Cutting

Mr. Cutting is a resident of District 3. He replaces Raleigh Dombek who serves on the commission as an at large member and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Abraham James

Mr. James is an architect and a resident of District 8. He replaces Gema Luna who served as on the commission as a member of the public at large and will fulfill a full term to expire July 6, 2020.

Thank you for your consideration.