#### **ATTACHMENT A**



To: City Council Date: June 1, 2022

From: Mayor Kate Gallego

Subject: \*REVISED FOR ADD-ON: BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS – APPOINTEES

The purpose of this memo is to provide recommendations for appointments to the following Boards and Commissions:

#### **Civil Service Board**

I recommend the following for reappointment:

## Bruce Meyerson

Bruce Meyerson is serving his fourth term to expire April 30, 2024.

#### \*Encanto Village Planning Committee

Vice Mayor Laura Pastor recommends the following for appointment:

#### Randy Schiller

Mr. Schiller is the Regional Vice President of AMS Vans LLC and a resident of District 4. He fills a vacancy for a term to expire November 19, 2023.

## **General Obligation Bond Committee**

Recommendations from the Fiscal Capacity Committee for the total amount of the proposed 2023 General Obligation Bond Program will be presented for City Council action at the June 7<sup>th</sup> Policy meeting. The General Obligation Bond Committee will evaluate and prioritize proposed projects for the program, and the City Council is tentatively scheduled to consider these recommendations in December 2022.

The General Obligation Bond Committee will be made up of an Executive Committee and eight subcommittees: Public Safety; Streets and Storm Drainage; Parks and Recreation; Neighborhoods and City Services; Housing, Human Services, and Homelessness; Environment and Sustainability; Arts and Culture; and Economic

Development and Education. The Executive Committee will be made up of the seven members listed below, as well as the Chairs of each subcommittee.

Committee meetings and activity are anticipated from August through December 2022, with approximately four to six meetings required for each member, dependent upon the committee assignment. The committee will sunset November 30, 2023.

I recommend the following for appointment:

### **Executive Committee**

Chair, Sharon Harper, Plaza Companies Vice Chair, Dr. LeeAnn Aguilar-Lawlor, Cartwright Elementary School District Ron Butler, Fiscal Capacity Committee Jennifer Grandahl, LiUNA Local 777 Pam Kehaly, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona Dana Kennedy, American Association of Retired Persons Rick Naimark, Arizona State University

# Public Safety

Chair, Steve Beuerlein, United Phoenix Firefighters Charities Rick DeGraw, 2006 Bond Committee Public Safety Chair Anne Ender, North Central Phoenix Homeowners Association Derrick Hall, Arizona Diamondbacks Greg Jackson, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Gail Knight, Balsz School Board Daniel Valenzuela, Former City Councilmember Alton Washington, Former Assistant City Manager Thelda Williams, Former Mayor and City Councilmember

## Streets & Storm Drainage

Chair, David Martin, Arizona Associated General Contractors Ray Acuña, Professional Engineer Ryan Boyd, Urban Phoenix Project Carole Coles Henry, Former Equal Opportunity Department Director Justin Graham, Sunbelt Holdings Manish Gupta, Small Business Owner Kevin Olson, Lewis Roca Chet Teaford, Gannett Fleming Steve Trussell, Arizona Rock Products Association

#### Parks & Recreation

Chair, Mary Rose Wilcox, Former County Supervisor and City Councilmember John Bullock, Osborn Maledon

Dana Burns. Permanent Voice Foundation Adrian Garcia, Independent Artist Brett Hunt, Leadership Development and Veteran Advocate Gary Kaasa, Riester Tim Madrid, Sierra Linda High School Elizabeth Perez, Arizona Education Association Jeff Spellman, Community Leader

## Neighborhoods & City Services

Chair, Abraham James, Library Advisory Board Mike Brown, Community Development Michelle Dodds, Former City Historic Preservation Director GG George, Phoenix Historic Neighborhoods Coalition Dan Klocke, Historic Preservation Commission Chair Eva Olivas, Phoenix Revitalization Corporation Daniel Oseran, Desert Ridge Homeowners Association Jennifer Rouse, Phoenix Block Watch Advisory Board Stefanie Smith, Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System

## Housing, Human Services & Homelessness

Chair, Diana Yazzie Devine, Native American Connections Sean Berens, Phoenix Residential Investment Development Effort Board Carolyn Chatman, Former Public Works Department Director Shana Ellis, Arizona State University Watts College Deanna Jonovich, Former Assistant City Manager Suzanne Pfister, Vitalyst Ryan Senters, Ohana AZ Brian Swanton, Gorman & Co. Victor Vidales. Realtor

#### Environment & Sustainability

Chair, Ginger Torres, Environmental Quality and Sustainability Commission Gene D'Adamo, Nina Pulliam Trust Pat Edwards, Burns McDonnell Ian O'Grady, Nowak Metro Finance Lab Lisa Perez, Electric Vehicle Ad Hoc Committee and Planning Commission Shannon Scutari, South Central Collaborative Dan Stellar, The Nature Conservancy Colin Tetreault, EY Serena Unrein, Arizona Partnership for Healthy Communities

#### Arts & Culture

Chair, Devney Preuss, Downtown Phoenix Inc.

Teniqua Broughton, State of Black Arizona
Gretchen Freeman, Public Art Consultant
Sam Gomez, The Sagrado
Alfredo Gutierrez, Community Leader
Annette Musa, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
John Owens, Historic Neighborhood Resident
Ron Price, Visit Phoenix
Donna Reiner, Friends of Phoenix Public Art

# **Economic Development & Education**

Chair, Robin Reed, Arizona Black Chamber
Heather Carter, Greater Phoenix Leadership
Austin Kennedy, Rio Reimagined
Verma Pastor, Rio Reimagined
Duke Reiter, Arizona State University
Todd Sanders, Phoenix Chamber of Commerce
Larry Sandigo, Arizona Board of Regents
Dr. Jacque Sokolov, SSB Solutions Inc.
Dr. Jeff Sprout, Laveen Elementary School District

# Water/ Wastewater Rate Advisory Committee

I recommend the following for appointment:

## Karen Loschiavo

Ms. Loschiavo is the Founder of Campaign Roots and a resident of District 4. She fills a vacancy for a term to expire June 1, 2025.