#### **ATTACHMENT A**



To: City Council Date: December 18, 2019

From: Mayor Kate Gallego

Subject: REVISED\* FOR ADD-ON BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS – APPOINTEES

The purpose of this memo is to provide recommendations for appointments to the following Boards and Commissions:

# **Ahwatukee Foothills Village Planning Committee**

Councilman Sal DiCiccio recommends the following individuals for reappointment:

#### Chad Blostone

Mr. Blostone will serve his sixth term to expire November 19, 2021.

### Michael Hinz

Mr. Hinz will serve his sixth term to expire November 19, 2021.

#### Max Masel

Mr. Masel will serve his sixth term to expire November 19, 2021.

#### Robert Page

Mr. Page will serve his second term to expire November 19, 2021.

### Suzanne Sharer

Ms. Sharer will serve her first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

#### Brian Symes

Mr. Symes will serve his fifth term to expire November 19, 2021.

## Citizens Commission on Salaries for Elected City Officials

The City Charter Chapter III, Section 12 requires the City Council to appoint a Commission on Salaries for Elected Officials every four years during the same year a regular election for Mayor is scheduled.

The Commission is required to conduct a review of the rates of pay of elected City officials. The purpose of this review is to determine a recommendation of pay levels appropriate to the duties and responsibilities of city elected officials. The Commission must submit to the City Clerk, no later than April 1, 2020, a report of the results of the review and its recommendations.

The Commission's salary recommendations must be certified by the Commission to the City Clerk. If the Commission recommends a salary increase, the City Council shall submit the question to the qualified electors at the next regular municipal election for their approval or rejection. In the event the Commission recommends no change in salaries for the elected officials, it shall file such recommendation of no change with the City Clerk and no question shall be submitted to the electorate.

The Commission is composed of a Chair plus six residents to serve a term not to exceed three months.

I recommend the following for appointment:

#### Lauren Armour

Ms. Armour is Government Affairs Director for Willetta Partners.

### Caitlin Breedlove

Ms. Breedlove is VP of Movement Leadership at Auburn Seminary.

#### Candace Gamble Fremouw

Ms. Fremouw is North Maricopa Regional Director of the AZ State PTA.

### **Quinton Miranda**

Mr. Miranda is Public Affairs Representative for State Farm.

# John Owens

Mr. Owens is a Downtown Redevelopment Specialist at the City of Chandler.

# Jennifer Sanchez, Chair

Ms. Sanchez is the Director of Brand Marketing and Corporate Communications at Best Western Hotels and Resorts.

# **North Mountain Village Planning Committee**

Councilwoman Debra Stark recommends the following individuals for reappointment:

#### Nadine Alauria

Ms. Alauria will serve her first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

### Patricia Ford

Ms. Ford will serve her second term to expire November 19, 2021.

# Paul Magallanez

Mr. Magallanez will serve his first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

# **Paradise Valley Village Planning Committee**

Councilwoman Debra Stark recommends the following individuals for reappointment:

# Larisa Balderrama

Ms. Balderrama will serve her first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

### Katie Belous

Ms. Belous will serve her first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

# Alex Popovic

Mr. Popovic will serve his first full term to expire November 19, 2021.

# **Phoenix Business Workforce Development Board**

I recommend the following individual for appointment:

# Latasha Causey

Ms. Causey is the Director of Recruiting at U-Haul. She will represent the Business category for a term to expire June 30, 2021.

# Theme Park and Support Facility District Board of Directors

I recommend the following for appointment to the Theme Park District Board of Directors authorized by ARS 48-6203, replacing Councilman Daniel Valenzuela:

# Councilwoman Debra Stark

Ms. Stark is the Councilwoman for District 3.